June 13

How do I get my HVAC license in Utah?

First, you'll need to meet the minimum requirements set by the Utah Department of Commerce Division Occupational and Professional Licensing.

Who Needs a HVAC License in Utah?

  • Anyone Performing construction, alteration, installation maintenance, repair of HVAC systems
  • Anyone Charging money for HVAC services that fall under Utah's Contractor License Classification List
  • Contracting without a license in Utah is  Class A misdemeanor 

There are five classifications associated with HVAC and Refrigeration in Utah:

  • S350 - HVAC Contractor License
  • S360 - Refrigeration
  • S351 - Refrigerated Air Conditioning (No Trade Exam)
  • S352 - Evaporative Cooling (No Trade Exam)
  • S353 - Warm Air Heating (No Trade Exam)

HVAC License Requirements in Utah

  • 18 Years of age
  • Valid Driver's License or USA Identification
  • Social Security Number
  • Completion of 25 Hour Pre-License Course
  • Proof of General Liability Insurance - Contractors in Utah are required to hold a minimum of $300,000 in total coverage. 
  • Registered Business Entity - Sole Proprietorship, LLC, S-Corporation, or Partnership (what is the difference?)

Utah Contractor Pre-License Course

Before you can take the Utah Contractor license exam you will need to complete a 25 hour pre-license course covering Utah Construction LAW.

The course covers the following topics:

  • Construction Accounting Skills
  • Business Management
  • Labor LAW 
  • Safety

It is important to remember this is a LAW and business management focused class, that will not teach you any heating, ventilation or air conditioning trade skills.

an air conditioning system on top of a roof. complete guide to get the HVAC contractor license in Utah

Recommended Courses

Where can I take the pre-license course?

The course is offered in the following locations by AGC (Associated General Contractors) and the UHBA (Utah Home Builders Association):

  • Course Fee: $310.00
  • Textbook Fee (Optional) $70.00 for NSCLA Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project Management, Utah 3rd Edition.
  • Cancellation fee is:  $25.00
  • “No-Show” fee is $50.00
  • Three Days 8:30am - 5pm

Associated General Contractors of Utah (AGC)
Phone: 801-894-9111
2207 South 1070 West Salt
Lake City, UT. 84119

Associated General Contractors (AGC) of South Utah Office
Phone: 435-628-1346
230 North 1680 East
Suite B-1
St. George, Utah 84790

Salt Lake Office of the Home Builders Association
Phone: 801-352-8266
Email: utahhba@outlook.com
9069 South 1300 West
West Jordan, UT 84088

Southern Utah Office of the Home Builders Association
Phone: 801-352-8266
Email: utahhba@outlook.com
9069 South 1300 West
West Jordan, UT 84088

Cache Valley Office of the Home Builders Association
Phone: 801-352-8266
Email: utahhba@outlook.com
9069 South 1300 West
West Jordan, UT 84088

How Do I Take the Utah HVAC License Exam?

Once you have completed your 25 Hour Pre-License Course. You are then required to pass the Utah LAW and Business Examination. 

  • 60 Questions
  • Minimum passing score 70%
  • 2 Hours to complete
  • Test is open book and taken on a computer

The Utah Construction LAW exam will include questions on the following topics:

  • Business Organizations
  • Licensing
  • Estimating and Bidding
  • Contract Management
  • Project Management
  • Labor Laws
  • Financial Management
  • Risk Management
  • Tax Laws
  • Safety
  • Subject Area
  • Lien Laws

Licensing Costs

The Utah HVAC license costs are:

$210.00 – Fee for 1st classification

$175.00 – Fee for each additional classification

$70.00 — Business registration fee (non-refundable) paid to the State of Utah Department of Commerce

All fees are non-refundable and should be paid in check to the Utah Department of Occupational and Professional Licensing

Applications and Fees can be hand delivered to:

Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

Heber M Wells Building, 1st Floor Lobby
160 E 300 S
Salt Lake City, UT 84111

or by mail

Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

P.O. Box 146741
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741

Exam Locations

  • The test is administered by a third party testing solutions company called PSI. You can apply here
  • Remember to bring two forms of ID and show up to the exam (30 minutes early).
  • Examination fee is $75.00

The testing sites are:

  • North Salt Lake City

25 North 400 West, Suite 7

North Salt Lake City, UT 84054

  • North Orem (Provo)

581 West 1600 North, Suite C

North Orem, UT 84057

  • Hurricane (St. George)

473 N. Old Highway 91, Suite 6

Hurricane, UT 84737

  • Grand Junction

743 Horizon Court, #203

Grand Junction, CO 81506

  • Sunset (Ogden)

2465 N Main Street #11C

Sunset, UT 84015

Once your test is completed, you can send your license packet by mail to:


Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

P.O. Box 146741Salt Lake City,

Utah 84114-6741

Or by delivery:

Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

160 East 300 South1st Floor, Main Lobby

Salt Lake City, Utah 84

Utah HVAC License Application Guide

The Utah HVAC License Application, has multiple steps. The following is a brief explanation of each section and what kind of information you will need to provide.

Applicant Information - Basic information including your name, entity information, mailing address and phone number for your business.

Affidavit and Release - This section certifies that you are qualified to perform electrical work. You will need to state that are not a threat to the public and that everything you write in the application is correct. You will also need to include your master electrician license number.

Business Organization - Here you will identify which type of business entity you have chosen to operate your construction company through. (Sole Proprietorship, LLC, S-Corp, etc.)

Qualifying Questionnaire - Section covers a series of Yes or No questions about financial history and criminal background.

Financial Responsibility - This section includes submitting any information about judgements, liens, outstanding child support and your Credit Report Authorization.

Qualifier Information and Classification - Qualifier for the business must provide: 

  • Legal name, mailing address, email, and phone number, as well as their 
  • Position (either owner of at least 20 % ownership stake, or W-2 Employee in Management Position)
  • SSN, U.S. Driver License, and Date of Birth

Applicant information - Basic application information

Ownership and Employee Listing - If there are additional owners or employees, here you will provide their information

General Liability Insurance - In Utah, all contractors must hold general liability insurance, here you will provide information about your construction insurance policy.

Fees & Instructions - Fees must be paid to the Department of Occupational and Professional Licensing.

How to start an HVAC Business in Utah

A Utah state contractors license can only be issued to a legal business entities. You will have to form a legal entity through the: Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code. 

You will choose a name and then select the type of entity you want.

Typically, construction companies choose either:

two construction contractors looking at a building. complete guide explains everything HVAC contractors in utah need to know about starting a business
  • Sole Proprietor - License held through an individual
  • Partnership - License held through a partnership
  • LLC - License held through a company that exists as its own entity
  • S-Corporation - License held through a corporate entity

For a complete explanation of the difference between these types of entities and which one makes the most sense for someone applying for a contractor license, check out this free guide!

State Business License Registration 

Once you have a set up your business entity, you must then register for a business license before you can begin doing business in the state of Utah.

The process is pretty simple, you can register here. 

Within this process you will register with the following state agencies: 

  • Utah State Tax Commission
  • Utah Department of Environmental Quality
  • Utah Department of Commerce
  • Utah Department of Commerce
  • Utah Labor Commission

To search a  current construction business operating in Utah, you can use the Utah Contractor License Lookup and Verification

Workers Compensation 

Utah requires all employers to hold workers compensation insurance.

If you are applying for a contracotr license in Utah and have workers or employees, you will disclose this on your application. 

You will need to include:

  • Name of your provider
  • Policy Number
  • Expiration on your renewal form

Check out the Utah Insurance Department website, For a deeper look at Utah's Insurance and Workers Compensation requirements.

Utah HVAC Contractor License Reciprocity

image of california, article breaks down what you need to know about utah contractor license reciprocity

Contractor License reciprocity is an agreement between the Contractor licensing boards of two different states. 

Depending on your trade and your years of experience you may qualify to have the trade examination waived.

To see if your classification is eligible for reciprocity in Utah, check out this list.

This article will cover everything you need to know about California contractor license reciprocity!

HVAC Apprenticeships in Utah

Whether you are looking to become a journeyman HVAC technician in Utah or begin a career as a contractor, you will want to begin by mastering the trade.

One of the best ways to build a solid foundation in your career as an HVAC technician is by looking into an apprenticeship program or training course.

two contractors inspecting an air conditioning system. to get the utah hvac license you may want to begin with a HVAC training course

These types of schools can provide you with valuable training in a trade, covering everything from servicing and repairing air conditioning systems, to fabrication and even design.

If you are one day looking to get the Utah General Contractor license requirements, you will need to demonstrate a skillset beyond just construction.

If you are new to HVAC industry and have heard the term “journeyman” or “apprentice” and are not sure what these terms mean, or perhaps where to even start.

Each state has different requirements and standards for HVAC certifications. To Learn more about the step by step path from an Apprentice to Journeyman!

Construction Blueprint Reading Skills

For those looking to do pursue a career in construction or get the Utah General Contractor license, reading construction blueprints is fundamental. 

blueprint reading course for those looking to get the general contractor license in california

Blueprints communicate important information about the way in which a structure is built as well as what materials are necessary or have been used for its construction.

Being comfortable with construction blueprints is an invaluable skill for those looking to into engineering or obtain construction licensing.

See our Free Blueprint Reading Course!

Utah OSHA Regulations

Statistically, 21% of all work-related fatalities are in construction.

That equals about 1 and 5 worker deaths on average.

In the construction industry, the leading cause of worker deaths is reported as falls, struck by an object, electrocution, and caught-in/between.

the complete guide to the occupational safety hazard agency

Safety is a huge part of engaging in HVAC maintenance. General Contractors should know everything about safely supervising a project.

If you or your workers are not properly trained, it can place unnecessary risk to not only your personal safety but your bottom line as a business. 

For employment with a licensed general contractor, you may be asked to complete some level of Utah OSHA Safety Training.

Get Started!

Getting the Utah HVAC license can be a huge step up in your career if you are looking to start your own business or become an RMO for a company!

The heating, ventilation and air conditioning is highly lucrative no matter which state you live in. 

If you are looking to get work in another state you can find information here about HVAC contractor licenses in: CaliforniaNew MexicoUtahArizonaNevadaColoradoLouisiana, Alabamaand Florida

The key is to take action and follow these steps from beginning to end.

If you have found this article, be sure to let us know! and check back for more updates in the future.


You may also like

Jobs You Can Do With a C-42 License!

Jobs You Can Do With a C-42 License!
{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Get in touch

0 of 350